HIS 3348: The U.S. as a World Power: Images & Television & Video

Over 300,000 photographs are in this collection, and almost one thousand are about Texas.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

The Library of Congress contains almost a million photos, and drawings, and more than 880,000 are available online.

The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television.

This leading U.S. news network has covered the biggest stories and news events, both in the U.S. and internationally since 1963. Along the way ABC has recorded iconic images and gained many exclusives, leaving us with 50 years of outstanding footage that gets refreshed with new coverage every day. Available to customers outside of North America.

This archive can be searched by topic and goes back to the 1960s.

Contains archival footage from NBC News, NBC Nightly News, the Today Show, CNBC, MSNBC, and NBC New York.

Contains all of the speeches and utterances of FDR that were recorded, all speeches and utterances of Eleanor Roosevelt, plus FDR and Eleanor motion pictures.

Founded in 1997, the Television Academy Foundation’s Archive of American Television has conducted over 850 oral history interviews (over 4000 hours) with the legends of television. Rebranded in its 20th year as "The Interviews: An Oral History of Television" these conversations chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves. The Interviews continue to produce new oral histories every year. The collection covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history.

From Harvard University. Contains links to primary and secondary sources pertaining to television history.

Launched in 2003, Television Obscurities is dedicated to the study and preservation of the forgotten history of television in the United States. For the past 15 years, I’ve researched, watched, and written about short-lived TV shows, unsold pilot episodes, fall preview specials, network image campaigns, and so much more.