LibGuides: EXS 2304 : Data Collection for Exercise Science: Other Databases

Why Search One Database at a time?

Image of a red circle icon with a black question mark in the center.

Why Search One Database at a Time When You Can Search Everything at Once?

You may miss some important articles if you search everything at once
You will have less articles to sift through
Individual Databases have extra features not available in Search Everything

Search Results by Database

Academic Search Complete
attitudes	354,124
football players	790
exercise	27

Atl Health Watch
attitudes	3,380
football players	1
exercise	0

CINAHL Complete
attitudes	274,686
football players	61
exercise	11

Health Reference Center Academic
attitudes	167,390
football players	24
exercise	4

Health Source Consumer
attitudes	6,363
football players	5
exercise	1

Health Source Academic
attitudes	65,636
football players	28
exercise	2

MEDLINE Complete
attitudes	392,816
football players	91
exercise	23

PsycARTICLES
attitudes	23,428
football players	5
exercise	1

PubMed
attitudes	591,735
football players	185
exercise	41

Search Everything
attitudes	4,015
football players	11,434
exercise	146

Sport Psychology Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from journals and magazines on alternative and holistic health remedies.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Articles from 45 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains journal and magazine articles, continuing education units (CEUs) articles, plus dissertations on nursing and related subjects.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals health and fitness magazines and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only..(publisher 09/13/2016)
Health Source®: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. This resource provides access to more than 130 full-text consumer health magazines. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally Health Source: Consumer Edition contains:
- more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish)
- Clinical Pharmacology which provides access to 1) 100 drug monograph entries and 2) 700 patient education fact sheets
- Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
- Health Source®: Consumer Edition covers topics such as: AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health etc.
Health Source®: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition this database includes the Clinical Pharmacology database providing access to up-to-date concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements over-the-counter products and new drugs.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to over 27 million journal articles in over 5,000 biomedical journals. In 2,200 of these journals, the entire articles are available in the database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 15 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
SD College Edition Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Science Direct College Edition Journals Collection - Social and Behavioural Sciences contains over 350 full-text journals. The collection offers peer-reviewed content back to 1995.

Searching Tip

When doing research in databases, you often need to perform several searches trying different combinations of terms before coming up with a list of good results.

Education Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Access to millions of journal articles from thousands of journals and 550 books, and conference papers on subjects pertaining to education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
A unique database of educational materials from two sources:
1. Current Index of Journals in Education and (2) Resources in Education (RIE) Index.
2. The RIE contains materials not available anywhere else.

Other Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

MeSH

MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. It consists of sets of terms naming descriptors in a hierarchical structure that permits searching at various levels of specificity.

WHAT IS A CONTROLLED VOCABULARY THESAURUS?

A controlled vocabulary thesaurus organizes a database into pre-determined subject terms that everything about that subject falls under. You do not have to guess among a host of terms that are similar in meaning to find relevant articles.

Example: flu

MeSH Subject Term: Influenza, Human

Example: Wheat allergy

MeSH Subject Term: Wheat Hypersensitivity