LibGuides: EDU 6307 Emerging Issues in Education: Databases

Comparison of Databases

Education Source

Full text for more than 2,000 journals
Indexing and abstracts for nearly 3,600 journals
Full text for more than 530 books and monographs
Full text for more than 2,300 education-related conference papers
Citations for nearly 4 million articles, including book reviews
Coverage dating back to 1880

Links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents
Indexing and abstracts for more than 1100 journals
Indexing and abstracts for resources from more than 800 non-journal sources
An education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms
More than 1.6 million records
Coverage dating back to 1966

Professional Development Collection

470 full-text journals
Nearly 300 peer-reviewed, full-text journals
More than 750 abstracted and indexed journals
More than 530 peer-reviewed, abstracted and indexed journals
Nearly 230 educational reports
Records dating back to 1930

Educational Administration Abstracts

No Full Text journals
Covers 252 journals, 32 magazines and 35 books
More than 150,000 records
Records dating back to 1965

Education Databases

Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access to journal and magazine article citations on educational administration topics.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Access to millions of journal articles from thousands of journals and 550 books, and conference papers on subjects pertaining to education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
A unique database of educational materials from two sources:
1. Current Index of Journals in Education and (2) Resources in Education (RIE) Index.
2. The RIE contains materials not available anywhere else.
ERIC (IES version) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
A valuable resource aimed primarily at professional educators and others interested in the field of education. Information on everything from child development to theories and practices of different teaching methods.

Databases for Students

MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for high school students, this database contains hundreds of magazines and books. It also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Designed for middle and junior high school students, this database includes popular K-12 magazines for middle schools, e-books, primary source documents, and 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 70 elementary school magazines. In addition, there is a general encyclopedia, an encyclopedia of animals, a children's dictionary, and thousands of photos, maps, and flags.

Academic Search Complete

Nearly 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines
17,133 indexed and abstracted journals and magazines, 363 books 27 newspapers inc New York Times and Wall Street J
Records dating back to 1911.

Why Search One Database at a time?

Image icon of a red circle with a black question mark.

Why Search One Database at a Time When You Can Search Everything at Once?

You may miss some important articles if you search everything at once
You will have less articles to sift through
Individual Databases have extra features not available in Search Everything

Searching Tip

When doing research in databases, you often need to perform several searches trying different combinations of terms before coming up with a list of good results.

Other Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers many subjects found at colleges and universities. Contains articles from thousands of journals, magazines, news sources, and videos from the Associated Press.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Articles from 45 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 470 full-text journals cover topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics psychiatry & psychology mental processes anthropology and much more.

JSTOR

Many different journal titles.
For each journal title, coverage begins with volume 1
Coverage ends about 3-5 years before the present
every article available Full-Text