HIS 4315: Wall Street, Soup Kitchen, & War: Websites

The Avalon Project from Yale Law School seeks to put on the Internet important documents in law, diplomacy and history. There are documents that pertain to individual Southern states.

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

This is one of the best resources for researchers in Texas history. Digitized materials submitted by archives across Texas. The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources. There are over 500,000 newspaper articles from over 1,400 newspapers, 300,000 photographs, 83,000 maps, 18,000 letters, 13,000 legislative documents, 7,000 pamphlets, 6,000 reports, 5,000 postcards.

The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia.

This is the United States Army's official history of the Korean War..