LibGuides: HIS 4362: History of the Old South: Newspapers

Online Newspaper Archives

An online newspaper archive contains digitized copies of one or more newspapers. Many of the newspapers included on this page are outside of the South, which can provide reporting of what was happening in South from other areas of the country and even England. In newspaper accounts written in the past, you can find accounts written about what was going on in South, but more than that, you may get a sense of the bias of the writer also when it comes to Southern affairs.

The British Library Online Newspaper Archive
This site, currently under construction, has digitized copies of five British newspapers (The Daily News, News of the World, The Penny Illustrated Paper, The Manchester Guardian, and The Weekly Dispatch) for selected years between 1851 and 1918. The primary way to view the papers’ contents is through a keyword search function that searches the full text of all the digitized newspapers.
Bowling Green State University list of U.S. Digital Newspapers by State
This is an extensive list of current and historical newspapers, plus historical newspaper databases, historical newspapers for the United States and worldwide.
American Newspapers, 1800-1860
This series of tutorials will teach you about American newspapers from the period 1800-1860. You will learn about the history of the American newspaper industry, and about the development of journalism and the concept of news. You will also learn about the people who produced newspapers as well as the people who read them. This knowledge will make you a better user of this important source material, whether your purpose is to write a term paper, to research your family history, to learn more about local history, or to uncover facts and early perspectives on historical events and phenomena. Simple curiosity is often the best reason for beginning to use historical newspapers!

The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection features 400 newspapers that were published during the 19th century in every state except for Nevada and Washington. Type of newspapers Includes rural and urban, large cities and small towns, as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups.

Chronicling America

This site allows you to search and view American newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Chronicling America
This is a newspaper digitization project from the Library of Congress and the National Endowment of the Humanities, that contains digitized newspapers from 46 of the 50 states, plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. The newspapers are from smaller towns and cities in these states and covers from 1756 to 1963.

State Newspapers Archives

Alabama Digital Newspapers | Jacksonville Republican 1837-1895
Delaware Digital Newspaper Project
Florida Digital Newspaper Library
Georgia Historic Newspapers
Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program
Kentucky's Digitized Newspapers
Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project
LSU Libraries is proud to present the Digitizing Louisiana Newspaper Project (DLNP), which offers 128 titles from the state of Louisiana published between 1836 through 1922 — a total of 328,900 pages.
The Historic Maryland Newspapers Project
Mississippi Newspapers | Chronicling America
State Historical Society of Missouri | Newspaper Collection
Missouri Digital Newspaper Project
North Carolina Newspapers
South Carolina Newspapers | Chronicling America
Historical Newspapers of South Carolina
Tennessee Newspaper Digitization Project
Virginia Chronicle
In addition to the growing collection of newspapers found at Virginia Chronicle, the Library of Virginia offers access to a wide array of resources for researching newspapers, from its broad collection of over 3,000 Virginia and West Virginia imprints, both in original ink press copy and on microfilm, to a suite of online resources that provide gateways to a significant range of historical newspapers.