American Mosaic - The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 400 volumes and designed under the guidance of leading librarians this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
The American Mosaic: The American Indian Experience (AIE) is an invaluable digital resource that provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America.
‘American Indian Histories and Cultures’ is a unique resource that makes available for the first time many rare and significant documents from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library Chicago; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world. Spanning four hundred years document types include manuscripts artworks speeches and petitions diaries correspondence linguistic and ethnographic studies photographs maps photographs rare printed books and American Indian newspapers. Full color. Searchable. Multiple added features.
Sourced from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library Chicago ‘The American West’ allows browsers to explore tales of frontier life Pioneers Wild West shows the Gold Rush vigilantes and outlaws.
HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources local and family histories and finding aids. 18th Century or 20th Century. European or Native American. Farm or Factory. East Coast or West Coast. Where does your American past begin? Discover the amazing history of you with HeritageQuest Online. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past. The collection consists of the following data sets:
Access over 10 000 news business and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers wire services broadcast transcripts international news and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
This Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000 the site seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding of U.S. history at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities colleges and high schools.