LibGuides: MFT 8302 : Principles of Educational Research: Other Databases

Family Studies Abstracts

Indexes 215 journals and magazines
Subjects covered: divorce, family therapy, marriage, family dynamics
Records dating back to 1964.
120,000 records
NO Full-Text

Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to journal articles pertaining to family studies.

Gale OneFile: health and Medicine

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Accesss journal, magazine and news articles, books, images on health and medicine topics. Also there are hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.

SocINDEX

630 active full-text journals and magazines
More than 600 active full-text peer-reviewed journals
Includes journals, magazines, books, reports

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from journals and magazines, plus books and conference papers on all aspects of sociology. The full text in the title means that for some the resources, the entire resource in available in the database.

JSTOR

Many different journal titles.
For each journal title, coverage begins with volume 1
Coverage ends about 3-5 years before the present
every article available Full-Text

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

About Medline

MEDLINE

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 29 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®).
MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed®.
Source: Currently, citations from more than 5,200 worldwide journals in about 40 languages; about 60 languages for older journals.
Updates: Citations are added to PubMed 7 days a week. More than 956,390 citations were added to MEDLINE in 2019, and 952,919 in 2020.
Broad subject coverage: The subject scope of MEDLINE is biomedicine and health, broadly defined to encompass those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. MEDLINE also covers life sciences vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry. Increased coverage of life sciences began in 2000.

The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to particular segments of the NLM broad user community are also included.

Medline Overview

Accessing Medlne

Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to over 27 million journal articles in over 5,000 biomedical journals. In 2,200 of these journals, the entire articles are available in the database.

Why Use MEDLINE Complete?

MEDLINE Complete includes more than 1,300 journals not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source, Biomedical Reference Collection. In addition, MEDLINE Complete contains more than 1,000 unique journals not found in MEDLINE with Full Text