Skip to Main Content
homepage homepage

EXS 4301: Issues in Sports/Exercise: Medline

Medline Fields

MEDLINE

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 23 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE is the online counterpart to MEDLARS® (MEDical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System) that originated in 1964.

MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed®, part of the Entrez series of databases provided by the NLM National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

Source: Currently, citations from more than  5,600  worldwide journals in about 40 languages; about 60 languages for older journals. Citations for MEDLINE are created by the NLM, international partners, and collaborating organizations.

HOW ARE MEDLINE, PubMed and PubMed Central different?

  • MEDLINE® is the National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) journal citation database. Started in the 1960s, it now provides more than 22 million references to biomedical and life sciences journal articles back to 1946.

  • PubMed has been available since 1996. Its more than 25 million references include the MEDLINE database plus the following types of citations:

    • In-process citations, which provide records for articles before those records go through quality control and are indexed with MeSH or converted to out-of-scope status.
    • Citations to articles that are out-of-scope (e.g., covering plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and general chemistry journals, for which only the life sciences articles are indexed with MeSH.
    • "Ahead of Print" citations that precede the article's final publication in a MEDLINE indexed journal.
    • Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing (when supplied electronically by the publisher).
    • Pre-1966 citations that have not yet been updated with current MeSH and converted to MEDLINE status.
    • Citations to some additional life sciences journals that submit full text to PMC® (PubMed Central®) and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
    • Citations to author manuscripts of articles published by NIH-funded researchers.
    • Citations for the majority of books available on the NCBI Bookshelf (a citation for the book and in some cases each chapter of the book)
  • PMC (PubMed Central) launched in 2000 as a free archive for full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles

Medline Fields in EBSCOhost

Field Abbreviation Field Name Field Abbreviation Field Name
TX All Text NP Named Person
AB Abstract PG Pagination
AF Author Address PM PMID
AU Author PT Publication Type
CA Corporate Author RN CAS Registry Entry
CR Comments DS SCR Disease
MJ Word in Major Subject Headings PR SCR Protocol
MW Word in Subject Headings SP Start Page
MM Exact Major Subject Headings SB Journal & Citation Subset
MH Exact Subject Headings CI Contributed Indexing
GM Geographic Subject Major SU Subjects
GN Geographic Subject Minor TI Title
CY Country VI Volume
DT Date of Publication (CCYYMMDD) JN Publication [Exact]
EM Date Created SO Publication Name
CD Date Completed TT Transliterated Title
GI Grant Information LA Language
GS Gene Symbol UD Update Code
IP Issue AZ Abstract Category
IS ISSN number AN PMID
MS Molecular Sequence    

Accessing Medlne

Medline on EBSCOHost

Image: EBSCOhost logo

  • Full text for more than 1,400 journals with cover-to-cover indexing
  • Full-text coverage dating back to 1936
  • Search citations from more than 5,600 current biomedical journals indexed in MEDLINE