LibGuides: SOC 2301: Introduction to Sociology: Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Set up Google Scholar So that it will retrieve articles that the West Library has

•1. Go to Google Scholar

•2. Click on settings

•3. Click on Library Links on the left

•4. Type in Texas Wesleyan Library in the box

Videos

Films on Demand - Sociology Video Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of videos discussing various sociological issues of the day. Topics include ethnic and racial studies gender studies social justice and social work.

Newspapers

Fort Worth Star-Telegram Historical Archive 1902-1990 This link opens in a new window
The Fort Worth Star-Telegram is an American daily newspaper serving Fort Worth and Tarrant County, the western half of the North Texas area known as the Metroplex. This collection contains material published in the newspaper from 1902-1990.

Databases

Why use these: To find scholarly articles from journals, to find magazine articles, and to find newspaper articles in one search.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers many subjects found at colleges and universities. Contains articles from thousands of journals, magazines, news sources, and videos from the Associated Press.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Articles from 45 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with access to reports that cover different controversial topics going back to 1991.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from journals and magazines covering areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides information on hundreds of controversial issues. For each issue, there are opposing viewpoints essays, topic overviews, magazines & journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to websites.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features the following: 1. Thousands of news sources from all over the world. 2. Legal court cases and law reviews 3. Company dossiers and information. Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 470 full-text journals cover topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics psychiatry & psychology mental processes anthropology and much more.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for ethnic and racial studies, this database includes abstracting for the top academic journals, books, periodicals and newspapers related to the field, with coverage dating back to 1903.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals for the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from journals and magazines, plus books and conference papers on all aspects of sociology. The full text in the title means that for some the resources, the entire resource in available in the database.
Women and Social Movements 1600-2000: Scholar's Edition This link opens in a new window
This database contains 130 document projects and document archives that present and interpret primary source documents. In addition, there are many other publications, including a biographical dictionary and an encyclopedia included.