BUA 3345: International Business: General Country Information

A.M. Best defines country risk as the risk that country-specific factors could adversely affect an insurer's ability to meet its financial obligations. Country risk is evaluated and factored into all A.M. Best ratings. As part of evaluating country risk, A.M. Best identifies the various factors within a country that may directly or indirectly affect an insurance company. There is country risk information for 136 countries.

Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives. Included in each of the 202 country profiles is a media analysis.

Explore the constitutions of every country of the world.

GeographyIQ is an online world atlas packed with geographic, economic, political, historical and cultural information. In addition, GeographyIQ brings together a number of other resources including maps, flags, currency conversion as well as climate and time zone information.

Created by Michigan State University's Broad College of Businesses, globalEDGE delivers a comprehensive research tool for academics, students and businesspeople. Connect with over 47,000 people using the gE Network while tapping into a directory of over 5000 quality resources. globalEDGE provides tools and resources to efficiently research nearly any international business question you may have.

Mergents contains financial information about companies. In the lower right corner there is a country profile section, in which you can find detailed information about countries. There are reports for about 114 countries.

NationMaster was founded by Luke Metcalfe back in 2003. He was a fan of the CIA World Factbook but wanted to give it context, comparing countries side by side and calculating everything per capita. From there, NationMaster turned into the internet’s one stop shop for international statistics - a place where you can compare anything at all.

Published by World Trade Press, A to Z the World contains information on every country in the world. It may be one of the more comprehensive resources available. For each country if contains information about the land, the people and the history of each country. It also has information on the business climate, Climate and Weather, Communication, Economy and Trade, Geography, Government Leaders, Culture and Society, Sports, Superstitions & Folklore, Education, Food and Recipes, Health and Medical, Holidays and Festivals, Human Rights, Language, Dating and Courtship, Marriage, Family and Parenting, Work and Professional Life, Maps, Money and Banking, Media Outlets, Newspapers, Television Stations, Radio Stations, Periodicals, Music, Religion, Security Briefing. There are about 174 countries included in this list.

Presents statistical data on every country that is a member of the United Nations.

Contains country profiles for each country of the world.

Economies are ranked on their ease of doing business, from 1–190. A high ease of doing business ranking means the regulatory environment is more conducive to the starting and operation of a local firm.

The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. The Data Catalog provides download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets. You can see indicators by Country--View profiles for over 200 countries and economies. ALso By Topic--See key indicators for a variety of topics.

The international transactions accounts provide information on trade in goods and services (including the balance of payments and the balance of trade), investment income, and government and private financial flows.

Export.gov is a place for businesses to go if they are interested in exporting. What you can find out about countries is also useful.
1. If you click on For U.S. Businesses it will open up a large drop-down menu.
2. Find the section Research Center and then Research by Country
3. Click on the arrow in the blue box next to Country Commercial Guides
4. On the Country Commercial Guides page you will see a map in which there are 5 lists of regional areas. This contains 78 Country Commercial Guides that have been prepared by ITA trade professionals at U.S. embassies worldwide.
5. Also on the Country Commercial Guides page, you will see in the upper left corner a link to an additional 56 more Country Commercial Guides that have been prepared by the U.S. State Department, for a total of 134 countries.

This government website provides links to the principal federal statistical agencies, plus international statistical organizations, and national statistical agencies of other countries

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

At this site, a list of all the independent countries and areas of the world is listed.(194 countries and areas) Also details about the United States official relationship, the embassies, and press releases.

Worldometers shows estimated current numbers based on statistics and projections from the most reputable official organizations.

Our sources include the United Nations Population Division, World Health Organization (WHO), Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), International Monetary Fund (IMF), and World Bank.