LibGuides: REL 1311: Introduction to the Study of the Old Testament: Databases

Why Search One Database at a time?

Why Search One Database at a Time When You Can Search Everything at Once?

Set up Google Scholar So that it will retrieve articles that the West Library has

•1. Go to Google Scholar

•2. Click on settings

•3. Click on Library Links on the left

•4. Type in Texas Wesleyan Library in the box

Why use these: To find scholarly articles from journals, to find magazine articles, and to find newspaper articles in one search.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers many subjects found at colleges and universities. Contains articles from thousands of journals, magazines, news sources, and videos from the Associated Press.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features the following: 1. Thousands of news sources from all over the world. 2. Legal court cases and law reviews 3. Company dossiers and information. Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Nearly 250 full-text articles cover topics in world religions major denominations biblical studies religious history epistemology political philosophy philosophy of language moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from journals and magazines, plus books and conference papers on all aspects of sociology. The full text in the title means that for some the resources, the entire resource in available in the database.