Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CIA World Fact Book
This site contains maps of every country of the world, plus world maps and regional maps. These maps are prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Welcome to the David Rumsey Map Collection Database and Blog. The Map Database has many viewers and the Blog has numerous categories. The historical map collection has over 42,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
Library of Congress | Geography & Map Reading Room
The Geography and Map Division (G&M) of the Library of Congress has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world with collections numbering over 5 million maps, 100,000 atlases, 8,000 reference works, over 5000 globes and globe gores, 3,000 raised relief models, over 130,000 microfiche/film, and a large number of cartographic materials in other formats. Click on Online Collections to find the almost 38,000 maps that have been digitized.
The holdings of the Cartographic and Architectural Section in College Park, Maryland, include over 15 million maps, charts, aerial photographs, architectural drawings, patents, and ships plans, constituting one of the world's largest accumulations of such documents. Search the National Archives Catalog
to search for maps online.
The National Map
This site provides applications and web map services for "Topographic Information for the Nation". This information includes topographic maps and geographic information system (GIS) data for elevation, hydrography, watersheds, geographic names, orthoimagery, governmental units/boundaries, transportation, and land cover.
New York Public Library | Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division
The Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division is one of the world’s premier map collections in terms of size, scope, unique holdings, diversity and intensity of use. Established in 1898, our holdings include more than 433,000 sheet maps and 20,000 books and atlases published between the 16th and 21st centuries. The collections range from the global to the local scale and support the learning and research needs of a wide variety of users.
Old Maps Online
The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.
University of Minnesota | John R. Borchert Map Library
This is an extensive map collection named after Dr. John R. Borchert, geography professor at the University of Minnesota from 1949 to 1989. There are plat maps, ariel photograpy, topographical maps, world city maps, gazeteers an place names. Some of the maps have been digitized, and there are links to other map resources.
Yale University Library | Map Collection
The Yale Map Collection has the largest collection of maps in Connecticut and one of the largest university collections in the United States. Its collections are geographically comprehensive and consist of over 200,000 map sheets, 3,000 atlases, and 900 reference books. The Beinecke Library has digitized more than 20,000 maps, which are available in the Beinecke’s Digital Library at https://brbl-dl.library.yale.edu/vufind/
Map of the World
The Fra Mauro Map of the world (1460). The map depicts Asia, Africa and Europe.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection---Mexico
The Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection is housed at the University of Texas at Austin, and includes more than 250,000 maps, yet less than 20% of the collection is currently online.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection---Texas
Contains city maps, historical maps, historical city maps, park maps, Sanborn maps, topographical maps.
Texas Department of Transportation | Maps
Contains the official state map of Texas, plus maps of major cities in Texas.
Texas County Maps
From the University of Texas Libraries, this site contains digital maps of every county in Texas from 1993,1996.