Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by
Call Number: ML100 .N48 2001 v.1 - v.29
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Since its initial publication in 1980, the Dictionary has been widely acclaimed as an indispensable resource and a classic reference. The word "updated" doesn't begin to describe the thousands of new articles, topics, cross-references, and areas of scholarship incorporated into The New Grove! Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream havebeen added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more.The New Grove II takes you beyond the customary and familiar into new worlds with extensive, authoritative contributions on non-Western music. From major influences, such as Latin American music, to less-examined contributions, such as Asian, sub-Saharan African, and Pacific Islander, The New GroveII presents the music, theory, instruments, and musicians that have helped to define music around the world.
Grove Music Online
This is a wonderful new online resource that is available to all SE students and faculty. Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz,second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen. Grove Music Online has over 45,000 articles on people and places (including those of the renaissance period) instruments and techniques, genres and styles,
Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution by
Call Number: Ref. Q 125 E53 2000
Publication Date: 2000-06-13
Scientific exploration and expeditions : from the age of discovery to the twenty-first century by
Publication Date: 1999-09-30
Designed for high school, college, and general readers, this encyclopedia details expeditions made in the quest for scientific knowledge from the fifteenth century to the present day. Concise and appealing articles focus on the goals and accomplishments of the explorers and expeditions, and how the sciences - from anthropology to zoology - benefited from these voyages of discovery.
Medieval science, technology, and medicine : an encyclopedia by
Call Number: Ref. Q124.97 .M43 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-29
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine details the whole scope of scientific knowledge in the medieval period in more than 300 A to Z entries. This resource discusses the research, application of knowledge, cultural and technology exchanges, experimentation, and achievements in the many disciplines related to science and technology. Coverage includes inventions, discoveries, concepts, places and fields of study, regions, and significant contributors to various fields of science.
Art Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
The Mona Lisa, by Leonardo da Vinci (1503-1506)
The Dictionary of Art by
Call Number: N31 .D5 1996 v.1 - v.34
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage.
A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. The Dictionary ranges far both geographically and historically; it features unparalleled coverage of Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome. Providing depth as well as breadth, The Dictionary of Art examines important art forms and key issues of design, taste, function, and patronage, illuminating them in light of the cultural context in which they developed.
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Call Number: Ref. BL31 .E46 1987 v.1 - v.16
Publication Date: 1986-12-01
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
Call Number: Ref. B41 .E5 v.1 - v.8 plus supplement
Publication Date: originally published in 1967, supplement in 1996-12-01
Literature and Ideas
Dictionary of the History of Ideas by
Call Number: Ref. CB5 .D52 v.1 - 5
Publication Date: 1977-02-01