Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Newspaper Archives
An online newspaper archive contains digitized copies of one or more newspapers. Many of the newspapers included on this page are outside of Texas, which can provide reporting of what was happening in Texas from other areas of the country and even England. In newspaper accounts written in the past, you can find accounts written about what was going on in Texas, but more than that, you may get a sense of the bias of the writer also when it comes to Texas affairs.
The British Library Online Newspaper Archive
This site, currently under construction, has digitized copies of five British newspapers (The Daily News, News of the World, The Penny Illustrated Paper, The Manchester Guardian, and The Weekly Dispatch) for selected years between 1851 and 1918. The primary way to view the papers’ contents is through a keyword search function that searches the full text of all the digitized newspapers.
Bowling Green State University list of U.S. Digital Newspapers by State
This is an extensive list of current and historical newspapers, plus historical newspaper databases, historical newspapers for the United States and worldwide.
Texas Digital Newspaper Program
This is a part of the Portal to Texas History.
The Times Digital Archive
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century.
This is a newspaper digitization project from the Library of Congress and the National Endowment of the Humanities, that contains digitized newspapers from 46 of the 50 states, plus the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. The newspapers are from smaller towns and cities in these states and covers from 1789 to 1949.
Historical newspapers from 1700s–2000s
311 million+ pages from over 5,500+ newspapers
Access to licensed content from premium publishers
Millions of new pages added every month
Easily view, print, save, and share your findings
Subscription database, but you can subscribe to a free trial.
New York Times Article Archive
This is an index to the entire run of the New York Times, from 1851 to the present. Articles from before 1923 can be accessed for free.
Portal to Texas History
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources.
Gateway to Oklahoma History
The Gateway is an online repository of Oklahoma history, brought to you by the Oklahoma Historical Society. Visitors can search and view historic thousands of newspapers, photographs, maps, and documents. Please check back often to see the newest additions.
This database used to be called LexisNexis Academic. Access over 10 000 news business and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers wire services broadcast transcripts international news and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
Cover-to-cover coverage of the Christian Science Monitor from 1995 to the present and the Los Angeles Times from 2000 to the present. Selected full-text business and news related articles from 155 regional U.S. newspapers is provided by the Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business and News Service Contributor Newspapers.