Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Governments produce a lot of valuable information for researchers in history. There are laws, court cases, reports from different government agencies, congressional or legislative hearings and reports that can be extremely valuable to historical research. On this page are some of the government information from the Federal and Texas governments that has been made available online.
The American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project, non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. Our rapidly-growing collection is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara. For example, it has the complete set of The Public Papers of the Presidents: since 1929
The Presidential Library system is composed of thirteen Presidential Libraries. These facilities are overseen by the Office of Presidential Libraries, in the National Archives and Records Administration
The United States Census
The U.S. Census Bureau counts each resident of the country, where they live on April 1, every ten years ending in zero. It includes populations of all states in the country, plus populations of counties and cities. It also includes agricultural data, industrial/manufacturing data, and other information, such as number of schools by state. The link below takes you to a page where you can gain access to any census from 1790 to 2010.
This database used to be called LexisNexis Academic. Access over 10 000 news business and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers wire services broadcast transcripts international news and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
Immigration Records (Ship Passenger Arrival Records)
We have immigration records for arrivals to the United States from foreign ports between approximately 1820 and 1982. The records are arranged by Port of Arrival. Immigration records, also known as "ship passenger arrival records," may provide genealogists with information such as: one's nationality, place of birth ship name and date of entry to the United States age, height, eye and hair color profession place of last residence name and address of relatives they are joining in the U.S. amount of money they are carrying, etc.
The Territorial papers of the United States.
Vol 2 The Territory North of the River Ohio
Vol 4. Territory South of the River Ohio, 1790-1796
Vols 5-6 The Territory of Mississippi, 1798-1817
Vols 7-8 The Territory of Indiana, 1800-1816
Vol 9 The Territory of Orleans, 1803-1812
Vols 10-12 The Territory of Michigan, 1805-1837
Vols 13-14 The Territory of Missouri-Louisiana 1803-1821
Vols 16-17 The Territory of Illinois, 1809-1818
Vol 18 The Territory of Alabama 1817-1819
Vols 19-21 The Territory of Arkansas 1819-1836
Vols 22-26 The Territory of Florida 1821-1845
Vols 27-28 The Territory of Wisconsin 1836-1848
Congress passed the Ralston Act, in 1925, which authorized the Secretary of State to cause to be collected, transcribed, edited the papers relating to the territories of the United States.
The subject matter of this series of volumes is concerned with certain western tracts of land, acquired at various times and in various ways by the United States, which was governed by Congress and the National Executive as colonies or territories.The Territorial Papers of the United States consist of the official records of those Federal Territories which ultimately became States of the Union.
Not all territories have been complied into volumes; the last territory done was Wisconsin.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Federal Government Sites
National Capitol building in Washington D.C
American State Papers
The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The compilation, printing, and distribution of the Papers took place from 1831 to 1861 and the thirty-eight volumes contain 6,278 documents.
This site contains 100 milestone documents of American history from the National Archives.
USA.gov searches only federal, state, and local government websites for the public. Its search box works like other search engines you're used to, but USA.gov searches government web pages, most ending in .gov or .mil.
United States Code
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject of the general and permanent laws of the United States
United States Statutes at Large, 1789-1950
The United States Statutes at Large is the collection of laws passed by the United States Congress, in chronological order. The Law Library of Congress has digitized this collection, making the U.S. Public Laws available to the public from 1789 to 1950.
United States Statutes at Large
This website contains the statutes from 1951 through 2011.
Contains the debates and proceedings of the United States Congress from 1837 to 1873.
From 1994 to the present.
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873 and is still published today. This is the bound edition, and goes to 2013.
United States Reports
United States Reports is a series of bound case reporters that are the official reports of decisions for the United States Supreme Court. This collection spans 1754-2003 or volumes 1 through 542.
Annual Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs
These annual reports were published every year from 1824 to 1932. Included in these annual reports were reports from each Indian agency in the United States and in earlier years, reports from every school that taught Indian children. There were also in some years, maps and reports of health and farming among the Indians. There were also reports on legislation passed.