Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Divine comedy by
Call Number: PQ4315 .C4 1901a
Publication Date: 1901, originally published
English historical documents by
Call Number: Ref. DA26 E55
Publication Date: 1950-1959
The purpose of this series is to present the fundamental source material of English history.
V. 1 c500-1042; v. 2 1042-1189; V. 2 1189-1327; v. 4 1327-1485; v. 5 1485-1558; V 8 1660-1714
Don Quixote by
Publication Date: 2010-07-06
An illustrated retelling of the exploits of an idealistic Spanish country gentleman and his shrewd squire who set out, as knights of old, to search for adventure, right wrongs, and punish evil.
A Florentine Diary From 1450 to 1516 by
Call Number: DG 737.4 L29 1969
Publication Date: 1969; translated from the Italian by Alice De Rosen Jervis, 1927
Institutes of the Christian religion by
Call Number: BX9420 .I65 1960
Publication Date: 1960, Originally published 1536
Documents of the Coronado Expedition, 1539-1542 by
Call Number: E125 .V3 D66 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-21
The Log of Christopher Columbus by
Call Number: E118 .C725 1987
Publication Date: 1991-09-01
Translation based on Las Casas abstract of the Log with additions from his Historia and Fernando Columbus's Historie [of the Columbus family].
Bartolomé de Las Casas; a Selection of His Writings by
Call Number: F1411 .C4273 1971
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
The Prince by
Call Number: JC143 .M38 1985
Publication Date: 1999-02-23
Call Number: HX811 1516 .E964b
Publication Date: 1964; originally published in 1516
The Annals of America by
Call Number: E 173.A793 V. 1 - V. 22
Publication Date: 1968
Published by Encyclopedia Britannica, this series republishes primary documents from American history.
New American World: A Documentary History of North America to 1612 by
Call Number: E 101.N47 v.1 - v.5
Publication Date: 1979
Volume I: America from Concept to Discovery. Early Exploration of North America
Volume II: Major Spanish Searches in Eastern North America. The Franco-Spanish Clash in Florida.
Volume III: English Plans for North America. The Roanoke Voyages. New England Ventures.
Volume IV. Newfoundland from Fishery to Colony. Northwest Passage Searches.
Volume V: The Extension of Settlement in Florida, Virginia, and the Spanish Southwest.
Austin Papers (Annual Report of the American Historical Association)
Call Number: E172 .A60
The Austin Papers are contained in the 1919 and 1922 reports. The Austin Papers are the collection of materials accumulated by Moses and Stephen F. Austin in the progress of their busy enterprises from Virginia through Missouri and Arkansas to Texas. They consist of business memoranda, physiographical observations, petitions and memorials to local and superior governments, political addresses and proclamations, and much personal and official correspodence and letters.
Holdings: 1907-1912, 1914-1926, 1930-1932, 1935-1941, 1944, 1961-1964, 1966, 1968-1971, 1978
Military Papers of the Texas Revolution by
Call Number: F 390. J53 V. 1 - 10
Publication Date: 1973
This work contains all letters and documents relating to the Texas Revolution written between January 1, 1835 and the inaugural of Sam Houston as President of the Republic of Texas on October 22, 1836, arranged in chronological order in ten volumes. Some letters are reproduced in their entirety, while other contain the parts of the letter that pertain to political or military affairs.
Texas Indian Papers by
Call Number: E78 .T4 T42 v.1 - v.4
Publication Date: 1959
These volumes contain the reproduced Indian papers that are in the Archives Division of the Texas State Library. The contents of the Texas Indian Papers include: lists of supplies purchased for various tribes, treaties between Texas and various tribes, reports of various persons involved with the Indians, letters and correspondence between various parties that had dealings with the Indians, such as agents and commissioners, drafts on the Texas government. Volume 1 contains the papers from 1825 to 1843; Volume 2--1844-1845; Volume 3--1846-1859; and Volume 4--1860-1916.
Survey index of the state of Texas : containing a list of all towns, double keyed and indexed, with latest populations, counties, post offices, elevations, railroads, banks, express telegraph, bus lines, etc. Also county data. Issued in conjunction with H by
Call Number: Spec. Coll. F384 .H42 1938 VF
Publication Date: 1938
Online Book Catalogs/Archives
In the past twenty years, there have been a number of projects where books have been digitized and made available through online archive databases. The book archives/databases below can be searched by subject, title and author. Theses book databases make many more books available to the researcher, and also many primary source books/documents.
Use to find books either in the West Library or at other libraries. Books published before 1923 is usually available in their entirety for free.
The Online Books Page
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books (about 1 million) that are freely readable over the Internet. The Online Books Page was founded, and is edited, by John Mark Ockerbloom, He is a digital library planner and researcher at the University of Pennsylvania. He is solely responsible for the content of the site. The site is hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries, who provide the server, disk space, and network bandwidth for the site.
This web site contains access to over 2.5 million books, 438,000 movies, and almost a million audio recordings.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. This digital library currently has: 7,839,381 total volumes, 4,406,107 book titles and 195,241 serial titles.