Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & University Archives

Identifying and locating primary sources at Texas Wesleyan University Special Collections & University Archives

Our Services

The collections are open to all patrons during the Special Collections & University Archives open hours and by appointment. While an appointment is not required to access materials, patrons are strongly encouraged to make one, as that ensures the staff are available and can make the most efficient use of your time.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Please note that due to their rarity and historical value all items are non-circulating materials.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Visiting Special Collections & University Archives

The Special Collections & University Archives welcomes faculty, students, staff, and visiting researchers. Since the majority of the materials are rare or unique, readers are expected to treat all materials with care and respect to avoid loss or damage and need to follow these guidelines.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Reading Room Protocols
  • ‚ÄčAll patrons must sign in the visitation log .
  • If patrons have a campus ID it will need to be swiped into the EAB system. 
  • All patrons must read, fill out, and sign the patron registration form.
  • Laptop computers and tablets are welcome.
  • Cameras are welcome for the creation of images for private study and research only.
  • Only pencils may be used and are available at the research table.
  • Please have any electronics on silent or vibrate mode.
  • The following must be stored in the designated area:
    • Purses and bags
    • Camera and computer bags
    • Coats and jackets not being worn 
  • No food or drink is allowed

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Request Materials in Advance

We are happy to pull materials and have them ready upon our arrival. Please contact one of the archivists to make arrangements.

Teaching with Special Collections & University Archives

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Interested in enhancing your curriculum with primary sources? We offer class visits and instruction! 

Contact us today for more information!

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________