Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & University Archives

Identifying and locating primary sources at Texas Wesleyan University Special Collections & University Archives

Our Mission

The Special Collections & University Archives supports the discovery, learning, engagement, and research goals of Texas Wesleyan University by identifying, collecting, preserving, and providing access to materials of enduring value. 

Special Collections & Rare Books Division

Special Collections houses materials from individuals, families, and organizations deemed to have significant historical and cultural value. The West Library Special Collections collects materials that cover a range of topics, which can be found under the Curatorial Areas section of our home page. 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

special collection is a group of items, such as rare books or documents, that are either irreplaceable or unusually rare and valuable. Often a repository will specialize in a limited number of subject areas for their special collections.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The Rare Books Division is a repository of rare books on a variety of subjects that support the academic programs offered by the university and is maintained by the Special Collections Department.

University Archives

University Archives is the official home for the University's valuable historical documents, collections, photographs, and publications. The Archives also holds professional and personal papers of some faculty and alumni.