LibGuides: Family Nurse Practitioner: Articles

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database covers many subjects found at colleges and universities. Contains articles from thousands of journals, magazines, news sources, and videos from the Associated Press.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains journal and magazine articles, continuing education units (CEUs) articles, plus dissertations on nursing and related subjects.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Combines top evidence-based disease information in a single solution to support your clinical decision-making needs at the point of care. It covers all specialties; provides clear, graded evidence summaries, calculators, images; includes CME and MOC credits, as well as a drug information checker.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to over 27 million journal articles in over 5,000 biomedical journals. In 2,200 of these journals, the entire articles are available in the database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 15 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

Journals and Magazines

The Journal for Nurse Practitioners
JNP: The Journal for Nurse Practitioners offers high-quality, peer-reviewed clinical articles, original research, continuing education, and departments that help practitioners excel as providers of primary and acute care across the lifespan. Each issue meets their practice needs and encourages discussion and feedback with thought-provoking articles on controversial issues and topics. JNP supports advocacy by demonstrating the role that policy plays in shaping practice and delivering outcomes. The journal is an official publication of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners and also is affiliated with the Australian College of Nurse Practitioners.
Nurse Practitioners' Prescribing Reference
Provides product monographs and prescribing information on over 2,300 products and includes NP Association listings.
Spirituality & Health Magazine
Covers the people, the practices, and the ideas of the current spiritual renaissance. Offers self-tests, guidance on spiritual practices; reviews of the latest resources for people on spiritual journeys; inspiration and insights from leading teachers, researchers, and practitioners; and a forum for the active exchange of ideas among various disciplines and communities.
The Nurse Practitioner
The Nurse Practitioner is the leading monthly source for clinical, practical, cutting-edge information for advanced practice nurses and other primary care clinicians. Each issue presents peer-reviewed articles that range from clinical topics and research to political and practice issues. In addition, The Nurse Practitioner provides regular features, columns, continuing education, staff development education, and more.

Other Useful Databases

General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A science index aimed at high school and beginning college students. Contains more than 250 journals, 70 magazines. The term full text in the title indicates that for some articles, the entire article is available within this database.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals health and fitness magazines and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only..(publisher 09/13/2016)
Health Source®: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition this database includes the Clinical Pharmacology database providing access to up-to-date concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements over-the-counter products and new drugs.

Family Nurse Practitioner

What are Databases & Why you Need Them?

Open Access Databases

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Recommended Databases

Journals and Magazines

Other Useful Databases