Skip to main content

Faculty Resources: Home

This guide will help faculty members connect with all faculty resources and services at the West Library.

Library Information during COVID-19 Situation

View our libguide for reliable information on the COVID-19 situation. 

Please make note of the following changes at the library during this time:

  • Library staff are able to assist remotely during the following hours during Summer:
    • Monday – Thursday 8:00 am -  5:00 pm
    • Friday 8:00 am – 4:00 pm
    • Saturday - Sunday 12:00 pm – 6:00 pm
  • Reference services will be provided for students virtually through our Ask-A-Librarian service.  You can find more information about that using this link.  You can also continue to contact our Reference department through individual email or at reference@txwes.edu 
  • Interlibrary loan services will be temporarily limited to digital article requests only.  Due to the Tarrant County shelter-in-place order, the library will not be staffed physically, so book pickup services will halt until further notice.  Please contact our interlibrary loan staff at ill@txwes.edu with questions or concerns. 
  • The checkout of physical books is currently unavailable.  You can still drop books off at the library using the book drop off point located on the left side of the main entrance to the West library.  

Connect with your Librarian liaison

Find your department or school to locate your librarian:

Department/Field/School Librarian Liaison Contact
Academic Success Experience (ASE) Marquel Anteola
Biology Shelley Almgren
Business, School of  Dennis Miles
CETL Natasha Zinsou
Chemistry Shelley Almgren
Computer Science Shelley Almgren
Counseling, Graduate program June Johnson
Criminal Justice Louis Sherwood
Deans & Provost Elizabeth Howard
Developmental Programs June Johnson
Dual Enrollment Marquel Anteola
Education, School of Caitlin Rookey
English Nancy Edge
Exercise Sciences/Athletic Training Natasha Zinsou
Games Elizabeth Howard
Health Professionals, School of Shelley Almgren
History Louis Sherwood
Library Natasha Zinsou
Liberal Studies Nancy Edge
Mass Communications Nancy Edge
Mathematics Shelley Almgren
Mitchell Reed Community of Learners Elizabeth Howard
Music Nancy Edge
Paralegal & Pre-law Louis Sherwood
Political Science Louis Sherwood
Popular Works & Fiction Natasha Zinsou
Psychology Louis Sherwood
Religion & Humanities Nancy Edge
Sociology Louis Sherwood
Spanish Nancy Edge
Student Life Elizabeth Howard
Theatre Nancy Edge

Faculty Opportunities

New resources for ALL faculty

Library Services for Faculty

Library faculty work with teaching faculty to tailor library instruction to the needs of the class and faculty goals. We strive to provide instruction that is timely, complete, and specific.

 

Faculty requesting library instruction for their classes should contact the Instruction Librarians. Sessions are scheduled on a first-come-first-served basis and it is requested you schedule at least two weeks in advance.

 

Instruction Librarians
Marquel Anteola manteola@txwes.edu 817-531-4813
Dennis Miles dbmiles@txwes.edu 817-531-4809

To place materials on reserve, please print and fill out the West Library Reserve Request form and bring the form and the items you would like to place on reserve to the Circulation Desk. Please allow up to two business days for your reserve request to be processed and available for checkout. Library items will be returned to the General collection at the end of the semester.

Questions?

June Johnson

Circulation Librarian

jujohnson@txwes.edu 817-531-4800

The library collection is continually developed to meet the present and future information needs of students and faculty. The Collection Management Librarian and Periodicals Librarian select new resources for the collection, relying heavily on faculty input. Criteria taken into consideration when making final selection decisions include:

  • relevance of the subject matter to the collection
  • timeliness or permanence
  • authoritativeness
  • accuracy of information
  • author's reputation and significance as a writer
  • inclusion of the title in recognized bibliographies
  • price
  • availability of materials on the subject
Questions? Purchase suggestions?

Shelley Almgren

Periodicals Librarian

salmgren@txwes.edu x4816 subscription purchases (periodicals, journals, databases, etc.)

Natasha Zinsou

Collection Management Librarian

zinsou@txwes.edu 

OR

libacq@txwes.edu 

x4805 perpetual purchases (books, e-books, media, etc.)

You can request to borrow a resource from another library in two ways:

  1. Directly from the database you found the article, which will auto-populate the ILL form
  2. Manually fill out the ILL form for a book or article you need using the links above or from the ILL webpage
Questions? Contact our ILL Clerk:
Sarah Cunningham ill@txwes.edu 817-531-4804

To donate books to the library, each donor must fill out this form and turn it in with the item(s).  The form describes, in detail, the responsibilities of the university and the donor in regards to donations. Paper forms are available at the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the library. 

For questions or concerns, please contact the Collection Management Librarian

Academic Publishing Resources

Research Helpers