Skip to main content

Copyright for Authors & Creators: Academic Archive

A guide for students, staff, and faculty members on author rights and copyright.

Academic Archive old logo

Academic Archive Copyright Information

All materials in Academic Archive must be either in the public domain or freely available to users.  If an item does have a copyright, it must allow viewers the right to view, download and print the content. For copyrighted materials, the contributor will contact the copyright holder for permission before including the materials. Documentation of such permission should be kept permanently. Any notifications of copyright infringement should be acted upon by the IR staff in conjunction with the university legal advisors.

Items in Academic Archive will have a condensed version of the copyright statement. The statement is as follows:

© Texas Wesleyan University All rights reserved

and/or

The information available on this site, including any text, data, artwork, video, audio, images or graphics (collectively, the “Material”) may be protected by copyright and other intellectual property laws. Entities other than Texas Wesleyan University may own copyright in the Material.

We encourage use of this Material for non-profit and educational purposes, such as personal research, teaching and private study. For these limited purposes, Material from this web site may be displayed and printed, and all copies must include any copyright notice included with the Material.

Except as provided above, or any use beyond what is allowed by fair use (Title 17, § 107 U.S.C.), you may not reproduce, republish, post, transmit or distribute any Material from this web site in any physical or digital form without the permission of the copyright owner of the Material.

Inquiries regarding any further use of the Materials contained on this site, please contact Digital Initiatives Librarian at: Texas Wesleyan University, 1201 Wesleyan St., Fort Worth, TX 76105, (817) 531-4805, e-mail academicarchive@txwes.edu.

Mediated Deposit Agreement

The Academic Archive staff will deposit items on behalf of contributors. Contributors will sign a mediated deposit agreement at the time the item(s) are submitted to the IR staff. The IR staff will keep electronic or hard copies of the mediated submission licenses permanently. The mediated deposit agreement follows:

You, the creator(s), request mediated deposit of the work [specified in the Title of work box in the "Academic Archive Submission Form"] into Texas Wesleyan University's institutional repository, the Academic Archive, and grant your permission to Texas Wesleyan University the non-exclusive right to post your item(s) into the University’s institutional repository and allow Texas Wesleyan University the right to copy, store, perform, display, reproduce, or distribute the submission worldwide in any format or medium. You represent that the submission is original and that you have the right to grant the rights contained within this license.

If your submitted item(s) was previously published or contains material for which you do not hold copyright, you confirm that (i) you have obtained the necessary permission of the copyright owner or publisher for the rights required by this license, (ii) a copy of such permission will be retained in your records, and (iii) such third-party material is clearly identified and acknowledged within the text or content of the submission. You also represent that your submission does not, to the best of your knowledge, infringe anyone else’s copyright.

If the submission is based upon work that has been sponsored or supported by an agency or organization other than Texas Wesleyan University, you represent that you have fulfilled any right of review or other obligations required by any contract or agreement with such agency or organization.

Texas Wesleyan University will clearly identify your name(s) as the author(s) or owner(s) of the submission, and will not make any alteration, other than as allowed by this license, to your submission. You will retain all rights to your submission.

*The party signing agreement to this document agrees that the digital signature of the party included in the online “Academic Archive Submission Form” is intended to authenticate this agreement and to have the same force and effect as the use of a manual signature.

Withdraw Policy

Academic Archive is designed to make content freely and persistently available. However, the following circumstances may merit the withdrawal of items: 

  • An article is published with a publisher which does not allow earlier versions to be available.
  • A more recent version of the item is made available by the creator and the creator requests the IR staff replace the old version. Thesis and Dissertations are not exchangeable, but a second edition can be uploaded to Academic Archive.
  • A copyright owner contacts Texas Wesleyan University and/or the IR staff and requests an item be withdrawn from public view due to copyright violations. 

Any exceptions to the circumstances stated above will be handled on a case by case basis.

Loading ...

Want to Reuse this Content?

 This content is under a Creative Commons License that requires attribution to Texas Wesleyan University.